Call Us: 01202 597180
We're open: Monday - Saturday 10am - 6pm
Sundays and Bank Holidays 10am - 4pm.

IZOTOPE NECTAR 2 REVIEW

Posted on November 8, 2013 by Joe Stachowiak There have been 0 comments

This review was written by local engineer, Dave Thomas...

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

I have been engineering for 20 years and have a modestly equipped home studio comprising of Cubase 7, Pro Tools 10, UA Apollo Duo and an AKG c414, which I use as a vocal microphone. I also engineer in Absolute Music’s recording studio in Bournemouth.

My regular client base is mostly made up of singer-songwriters and artists recording to backing tracks and as technology and times have moved on, I've found that many of them have come to expect more and more for their money in ever decreasing time frames. As a consequence, it’s rare I get the time to experiment with vocals and although I generally get good results, I tend to err on the side of caution and use the same trusted techniques and settings over and over again. However, having not used a dedicated vocal 'all-in-one' plug in before, I was really looking forward to trying iZotope's Nectar 2. Could this be what I need in order to push me to try new things?

IZOTOPE NECTAR 2 - FIRST IMPRESSIONS

What struck me immediately was the highly intuitive GUI. I didn't even need to look at the manual to get started! I therefore went straight to the presets that are made up from the 11 modules/tools that are included in Nectar 2: Harmony, Reverb, FX, Pitch, Delay, De-Esser, Saturation, Compressor, Gate, EQ and Limiter.

I have to admit that I wasn’t prepared for what I heard, and I spent the next hour excitedly trying out the great-sounding presets, which cover a range of current and classic vocal styles. It was immediately obvious to me that Nectar 2 is an absolutely invaluable tool for any studio, from both a creative and workflow point of view.

IZOTOPE NECTAR 2 - FINDING 'THAT' SOUND